Top Home Warranty Companies

Company Name Average Rating Plan Fee Call Fee
1. American Home Guardian
8.46
389
50
Rate it!
2. Choice Home Warranty
7.47
375
60
Rate it!
3. Allied Home Warranty
5.63
395
60
Rate it!
4. Warranty Global Group
5.5
415
75
Rate it!
5. The Warranty Group (Aon)
5.25
399
75
Rate it!
6. Universal Home Protection
4.56
425
85
Rate it!
7. Residential Protection
3.42
459
75
Rate it!
8. HSA Home Warranty
2.89
450
50
Rate it!
9. Fidelity National Home Warranty
2.88
425
55
Rate it!
10. ORA Home Warranty
2.69
430
50
Rate it!

Recent Reviews

Company: Sensible Home Warranty
Reviewer: Patricia Stamps
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2013-02-01
1
5
10
1

SENSIBLE DOESN'T PAY FOR SERVICE DONE !!!!!

I bought my warranty in 8/12 and didn't have to use it until 10/23/12. I had 2 separate water problems. One was the main water valve was leaking and the other was the master toilet had a broken hold down bolt. This cause all the liquid in the bowl (urine) to leak out and the toilet would move at any touch. I had to argue to get the toilet repaired. They finally agreed and called Roto-Rooter. Roto-Rooter fixed everything expertly. I had to pay 2 service fees because there was two different problems. Okay, I paid my money and signed the paperwork. Little did I know I was going to here from them again. On 1/29/13 I received a call from Roto-Rooter stating they hadn't been paid yet and they were going to turn it over to a collection service. Also they mention something about putting a lien on my house. I contacted Sensible to find out what they were doing about this and was told they would handle it. I asked for the extension number to accounting. I immediately called Roto-Rooter and left them the phone number I had just received. I didn't hear from anybody until 1/31/13. At which time Roto-Rooter called and left a voice-mail stating they were turning this over to collection and filing a lien against my house. Luckily Roto-Rooter decided to turn the matter over to a collection agency against Sensible Home Warranty and leave me out of it. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!

Company: Choice Home Warranty
Reviewer: Perry Miller
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2013-01-13
1
1
1
1

After using American Home Shield, an excellent company, for many years, I made the huge mistake of dealing with Choice Home Warranty. Jack White, their sales rep. & a liar, convinced me to buy a 42 month plan at price of 36 month warranty. Of cource if I'm not satisfied I'll receive a pro-rated refund. About 40 days into contract I had a claim. Problems started when their contractor never contacted me, they told me to get my own repair service, which I did. Problems got even worse when this heat & air company, 20 yrs. in my city, informed me they do not do work for CHW due to failure to pay on several jobs. My heat was down for over a week, I told CHW the story, also told them that I would pay for the work in full, once finished, they could reveiw the repairs & reimburse me per their terms. CHW said no, get another repair service. I cancelled the contract, stop payment on final installment, & paid for the repairs. CHW still has $846.00 from 2 installments, no reimbursement, & no refund. Check BBB reports & reviews from other customers. BUYER BEWARE, do not buy from CHW.

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: alfred norris
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2013-01-06
1
1
1
1

After being with American Home Shield for 8 years, the UPPER MANAGEMENT decided to dump me. I called to speak with a representative with AHS, they informed me that UPPER MANAGEMENT, decided to not renew my contract in February of 2013, because I used there services too much for keep my home appliances running smoothly. In other words, that decided to dump cause they were not making enough money off of me. I encourage anyone who has AHS to dump them before that dump you, like they did me.

Company: LandAmerica Best Home Warranty
Reviewer: Prafull
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2013-01-01
8
8
3
3

You better look at the RESPA ruinlg again!! HWC can pay marketing fees as long as there is a compensalble service being provided and that the service is distinct and apart from the duties of an agent to complete a real estate transaction and that the fee being paid is fair market value of that service.Section 8(c) of RESPA guidelines June 25, 2010Clarification on Flat Fees was referred to in the update from HUD in November.It is a violation of RESPA for an HWC to be paid to have exclusivity in a brokerage.

Company: Total Protect
Reviewer: Kim Hearn
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2013-01-01
6
5
2
2

Buyer beware. Make sure you read the fine print before you sign up for TotalProtect. They pay for the basic part/parts but everything else costs alot more. By the time you pay the monthly fee and the $75 service charge most things could be bought and installed by a reputable dealer at the same or much less money.

Company: Choice Home Warranty
Reviewer: Angry Customer
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-12-31
1
2
1
1

This company is the worst Home Warranty Company for the following reasons:

1. They don't follow their contract. The sales person can tell you that everything is covered before you pay them. Once they got money and when you file claims, it turn out most of items are not covered and therefore they will deny the cliams. AC/heating can't be covered, Applicances can't be covered even though all of them are listed as covered in the contract.

2. They have very low coverage for the payment. If it is more than $100 for their cliam payment, they will either deny your cliam or let you pay the rest of it.

3. The worst is: if you are not happy about their service and cancel the services, they will withhold all the annual premium money forever and don't refund money back to customers. Also even though you just use their services for two weeks, they will charge you half of the annual premium. For the other half, like what I mentioned, they will withhold it for months and refuse to refund that money back to customers.

4. Therefore please take my lesson and don't sign any warranty contract with this Choice Home Warranty company because they don't worth your trust and they will not earn your trust. Once you find out it, they will eat all your money and it will take you forever to get anything back from them in case if you sign a one-year contract with this company and pay them the annual premium in the front.

Company: Old Republic Home Protection
Reviewer: kathie
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-12-10
5
4
7
5

This company hires somewhat substandard contractors. Every little repair costs a $75 copay.

Company: Sensible Home Warranty
Reviewer: C. McEwan
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-12-08
1
1
1
1

This is by far the absolute worse home warranty company I have ever dealt with! I originally purchased from them 2 years ago. Fortunately, during the first term all I had was a garbage disposal that needed replacing (simple item). I have attempted to make 3 claims during this past few months and not one of them has been accepted by this company. There is always an "exception". I have water spurting out of my shower at the fixture at this time and they have determined the fixtures are accepted from their warranty. If the water was coming from behind the tile wall they will cover that but only up to $500 to tear down the wall, etc. etc. Do not attempt to buy a policy from these people. They are a total sham!

Company: Old Republic Home Protection
Reviewer: Carl hice
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-11-30
2
1
4
3

I've been with Old republic for four years and the service has steadily become a pain.

Rude customer reps. inaccuracies dependent upon who you talk too, slow repairs with major equipment ( A/C).

I know labor costs are high and it "seems" cheap labor is most likely the contributing factor. If so, I would "assume" the business plan would ensure better material / written procedures for the representatives.

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: Kay
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-11-24
1
1
1
1

Poor customer service and no responsibility for the on contractors they assign.

More Reviews – Ordered By Date